Chosen as the September YA Book Club pick!

Explore
This Book Kills

Ravena Guron

Age: 12+

£8.99

This Book Kills

Age 12+

£8.99
In stock

"For fans of Holly Jackson and Karen M McManus." The Observer

"An awesome book, full of mystery, friendship and sass. ***** " The Sun

"Fun, twisty and insightful...will keep you on the edge of your seat." Adiba Jaigirdar, YA Book Prize winning author of Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating

"I'll make it clear from the start: I did not kill Hugh Henry Van Boren.
I didn't even help. Well, not intentionally."

When Hugh Henry Van Boren, one of the most popular and richest kids in Jess Choudhary's school, is found dead, the student body is left reeling and wondering who the murderer could be... Jess, a student under strict instructions to keep her record clean or risk losing her scholarship, finds herself at the centre of the investigation when it's revealed that Hugh died in the exact same way as a character in a short story she wrote.

And then Jess receives an anonymous text thanking her for the inspiration.

With time running out, Jess knows if she doesn't solve this mystery she'll finally have something in common with Hugh Henry.

She'll be dead too.

Extent:
384 pages
Dimensions:
198 x 130mm
Paperback ISBN:
9781803705415
Key Stage:
KS4
Publication Date:
January 2023
Work Reference:
7999
Ravena Guron

A born and bred Londoner, Ravena writes MG and YA, usually featuring antiheroines or snarky narrators. Growing up she always read the last page of books first, but discovering Agatha Christie in her early teens stopped that habit, igniting a love of twisty murder-mysteries with jaw-dropping endings the reader never saw coming. Ravena is a lawyer with a degree in biochemistry, and hopes to use the knowledge gained from her experiences to plot the perfect murder (for a book, of course!).

In her spare time, Ravena enjoys hiking in the great outdoors (though nothing too mountainous because she's very clumsy), baking cakes (that never rise) and falling asleep to her thousandth re-watch of Friends.

Find out more about Ravena Guron

Winner

Wandsworth Schools Fabulous Book Award 2024

Shortlisted

The British Book Awards 2024

Shortlisted

Southern Schools Book Award 2024

Shortlisted

Redbridge Book Awards 2024

Shortlisted

Wandsworth Schools Fabulous Book Award 2024

Shortlisted

Grampian Children's Book Award 2024

Shortlisted

Concorde Book Award 2024

Shortlisted

Lancashire Book of the Year Award 2024

Longlisted

Spark! Children's Book Award 2024

Nominated

Crimefest Book Awards 2024

Show All
An awesome book, full of mystery, friendship and sass

The Sun

A gripping YA debut

The Guardian

[A] boarding school drama with deliciously plotted Agatha Christie-style mystery...for fans of Holly Jackson & Karen McManus.

The Observer

A satire on race and class privilege as well as a complete murder mystery, this is gripping stuff.

Daily Mail

A satisfying mystery for a winter night.

The Irish Times

You've added:

This Book Kills
£8.99
Checkout