Usborne Children’s Books

Search Usborne


Young Adult fiction

Young adult fiction from Usborne Publishing

Looking for gift inspiration? Take a look at some of our top titles from 2018, or scroll down to choose a Young Adult fiction category or see more highlights.

Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen – shortlisted for the 2018 Costa Children's Book Award

There's only one way for a Jewish orphan spy to survive at a school for the Nazi elite. And that's to become a monster like them...

Orphan Monster Spy

Orphan Monster Spy

Shortlisted for the 2018 Costa Children's Book Award. A teenage spy. A Nazi boarding school. The performance of a lifetime. Sarah has played many roles – but now she faces her most challenging of all. Because there's only one way for a Jewish orphan spy to survive at a school for the Nazi elite. And that's to become a monster like them. Survive. Deceive. Resist. They think she is just a little girl. But she is the weapon they never saw coming... with a mission to destroy them all.

£7.99

Buy or find out more 

Costa Book Awards

Both unforgiving and brilliant - a book to leave you breathless Non Pratt, author

Read a free chapter

The Extinction Trials by S.M. Wilson

Betrayal. Sacrifice. Survival. Welcome to The Extinction Trials...

The Extinction Trials

The Extinction Trials

Betrayal. Sacrifice. Survival. Welcome to The Extinction Trials... In Stormchaser and Lincoln's ruined world, the only way to survive is to risk everything. To face a contest more dangerous than anyone can imagine. And they will do anything to win. But in a land full of monsters – human and reptilian – they can't afford to trust anyone. Perhaps not even each other... Shortlisted for the 2019 Scottish Teenage Book Prize

£7.99

Buy or find out more 

The Hunger Games meets Jurassic Park The Bookseller

Read a free chapter

Theatrical by Maggie Harcourt

Immerse yourself in the world of the theatre with this delightful romance novel from Maggie Harcourt, the UK's answer to Rainbow Rowell.

Theatrical

Theatrical

Hope dreams of working backstage in a theatre, and she's determined to make it without the help of her famous costume-designer mum. So when she lands an internship on a major production, she tells no one. But with a stroppy Hollywood star and his hot young understudy upstaging Hope's focus, she's soon struggling to keep her cool...and her secret.

£7.99

Buy or find out more 

A gorgeous, one-of-a-kind novel, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell. Maximum Pop!

Read a free chapter

Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes? by Holly Bourne

Queen of YA Holly Bourne's latest book is a raw, funny and painfully honest tribute to the power of friendship and kindness.

Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes?

Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes?

Welcome to Camp Reset, a summer camp with a difference. A place offering a shot at “normality” for Olive, a girl on the edge, and for the new friends she never expected to make – who each have their own reasons for being there. Luckily Olive has a plan to solve all their problems. But how do you fix the world when you can’t fix yourself?

£7.99

Buy or find out more 

Bourne is intensely readable and writes with compassion, insight and humour. Fiona Noble, The Observer

Read a free chapter

Rosie Loves Jack by Mel Darbon

See the world through new eyes in Rosie Loves Jack, a one-in-a-million story from debut author Mel Darbon.

Rosie Loves Jack

Rosie Loves Jack

"They can't send you away. What will we do? We need us. I stop your angry, Jack. And you make me strong. You make me Rosie." Rosie loves Jack. Jack loves Rosie. So when they're separated, Rosie will do anything to find the boy who makes the sun shine in her head. Even run away from home. Even struggle across London and travel to Brighton, though the trains are cancelled and the snow is falling. Even though people might think a girl like Rosie could never survive on her own. See the world through new eyes in this one-in-a-million story.

£7.99

Buy or find out more 

A pure joy, from start to finish Brian Conaghan, Costa-winning author

Read the first chapter

Choose a Young Adult fiction category

Usborne YA Shelfies

Looking for more Usborne YA gossip, including author interviews, sneak peaks behind the scenes and competitions?

Sneak peak of 2018 new titles

Check out our free online sampler, featuring extracts from six YA books from 2018!

Usborne 2018 YA sampler

After the Fire by Will Hill – winner of the YA Book Prize

What if the only way out of the darkness is to light a fire? Inspired by a real-life American cult, this stunning story of survival won the YA Book Prize 2018.

After The Fire

After The Fire

Winner of the YA Book Prize 2018. Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal. Selected for the 2017 Zoella & Friends Book Club. The things I’ve seen are burned into me, like scars that refuse to fade. Father John controls everything inside The Fence. And Father John likes rules. Especially about never talking to Outsiders. Because Father John knows the truth. He knows what is right, and what is wrong. He knows what is coming. Moonbeam is starting to doubt, though. She’s starting to see the lies behind Father John’s words. She wants him to be found out. What if the only way out of the darkness is to light a fire?

£8.99

Buy or find out more 

An engrossing, brilliantly realised story which is almost impossible to put down. Louise O'Neill, bestselling author and YA Book Prize judge

Read the first chapter

More books by Holly Bourne

Feast on fun and feminism in these books by Holly Bourne, including the bestselling Spinster Club series.

Holly Bourne is something special, she's got it. Patrick Ness

Holly Bourne
Holly Bourne

Saturday Activities

Sign Up