Usborne Children’s Books

Search Usborne

Age and Key stage

For each book in the online catalogue, we have given the UK National Curriculum Key stage and a suggested age level to help you choose the right books.

Here is an explanation of the UK National Curriculum Key stages. You can use our Advanced search to find a book by age and Key stage.

Age and keystage image

National Curriculum Key Stages
Key stage Pupil's age Year group (England & Wales) Year group (Scotland) Code
Early years foundation stage 3-5 Nursery, Reception Nursery, P1 EYFS
Key stage 1 5-7 Y1, Y2 P2, P3 KS1
Key stage 2 7-11 Y3, Y4, Y5, Y6 P4, P5, P6, P7 KS2
Key stage 3 11-14 Y7, Y8, Y9 S1, S2, S3 KS3
Key stage 4 14-16 Y10, Y11 S3, S4, S5 KS4

Subject abbreviations
Subject Code
English E
Maths M
Science S
Art & Design A
History H
Geography G
Music MU
Physical Education PE
Religious Education RE
Design & Technology DT
Personal, Social & Health Education/Citizenship PSHE/C
Modern Foreign Languages MFL
Information & Communication Technology ICT

Choosing the right book

To help you choose a book that's suited to your child's reading level, Usborne support a number of reading level systems. For more information visit Usborne reading levels.

Dragon reading a book