Usborne Children’s Books

Search Usborne


Young Adult fiction

YA fiction: After The Fire by Will Hill

What if the only way out of the darkness is to light a fire? 

Find out more about After The Fire, the stunning new novel from Will Hill, or scroll down for more YA fiction highlights.

After The Fire

After The Fire

Selected for the 2017 Zoella & Friends Book Club. The things I’ve seen are burned into me, like scars that refuse to fade. Father John controls everything inside The Fence. And Father John likes rules. Especially about never talking to Outsiders. Because Father John knows the truth. He knows what is right, and what is wrong. He knows what is coming. Moonbeam is starting to doubt, though. She’s starting to see the lies behind Father John’s words. She wants him to be found out. What if the only way out of the darkness is to light a fire?

£8.99

Buy or find out more 

Absorbing, gripping and darkly fascinating... it's a must-read novel Sarah Pinborough, No.1 bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes

Read the first chapter

Choose a Young Adult fiction category

Usborne YA Shelfies

For all the latest gossip on everything Usborne YA, the hottest new releases, interviews with amazing YA authors and exclusive extra content including think pieces, playlists, pics, events and book club news, visit YA Shelfies blog and Instagram.

Usborne YA shelfies logo

Usborne YA newsletter

Sign up to the monthly YA newsletter for more great Young Adult content, including sneak peaks behind the scenes, author blogs, quizzes and more. 

Sign up to the YA newsletter

It Only Happens in the Movies: a new novel by Holly Bourne

YA star Holly Bourne tackles real love in this hugely funny and poignant novel, out in October. 

It Only Happens in the Movies

It Only Happens in the Movies

Audrey is over romance. Since her parents’ relationship imploded her mother’s been catatonic, so she takes a cinema job to get out of the house. But there she meets wannabe film-maker Harry. Nobody expects Audrey and Harry to fall in love as hard and fast as they do. But that doesn't mean things are easy. Because real love isn't like the movies… The greatest love story ever told doesn’t feature kissing in the snow or racing to airports. It features pain and confusion and hope and wonder and a ban on cheesy clichés. Oh, and zombies... YA star Holly Bourne tackles real love in this hugely funny and poignant novel.

£7.99

Buy or find out more 

Listen to Holly give a preview of It Only Happens in the Movies

Read the first chapter here

Holly is the pure, real, honest voice of YA. She is the future. For those who haven't picked up her novels, you are missing out terribly. Never Judge a Book by its Cover

Unconventional: Everyone's a fan of someone...

Unconventional

Unconventional

Lexi Angelo is a Convention Kid - she's got a clipboard and a walkie talkie to prove it. Aidan Green is a messy-haired, annoyingly arrogant author and he's disrupting her perfect planning. In a flurry of awkward encounters, lost schedules and late-night conversations, Lexi discovers that some things can't be planned... Things like falling in love.

£7.99

Buy or find out more 

A gorgeous, one-of-a-kind novel, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell Maximum Pop

Listen to an extract from the Unconventional audiobook:

The Broken Trilogy by L.A. Weatherly

Black Moon is the stunning conclusion to the Broken Trilogy by bestselling author L.A. Weatherly.

Amity is a Peacefighter in a distorted echo of 1940s America, where your date of birth marks your destiny. With corruption rife and friends murdered, no one can be trusted...

Award Winner!
Broken Sky

Broken Sky

£8.99

Black Moon

Black Moon

£8.99

Fast paced and stylishly written, Broken Sky has us dying to pick up the rest of L.A. Weatherly’s suspenseful Broken trilogy. iBooks