Usborne Children’s Books

Search Usborne


Children's fiction

The Train to Impossible Places by P.G. Bell

The Train to Impossible Places by P.G. Bell

Where impossible becomes possible... 

The Train to Impossible Places is a wild ride of an adventure from debut author P.G. Bell, with glorious illustrations from Flavia Sorrentino – available in paperback and hardback.

Take a look, or scroll down to choose a category or see more highlights.

The Train to Impossible Places

The Train to Impossible Places

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2019 Longlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2019 Selected for the Summer Reading Challenge 2019 All aboard for a magical journey... When Suzy hears a strange rattling noise in the middle of the night, she creeps downstairs to find a train roaring through her house. But this is no ordinary train. This is the magical delivery express for The Union of Impossible Places. Whisked onboard by a troll boy called Wilmot, Suzy's world is turned upside down when she's given the job of delivering a cursed package to the fearsome sorceress, Lady Crepuscula. Except when the mysterious package begs not to be delivered, Suzy discovers the fate of the Impossible Places might just be in her hands...

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Great fun, fast-moving and inventive Philip Reeve, author of Mortal Engines

Find out more and read a free chapter

P.G. Bell, author of The Train to Impossible Places
P.G. Bell, author of The Train to Impossible Places

The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods by Samuel J. Halpin

Are you ready for a most peculiar fairytale? The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods is a spectacular debut by Samuel J. Halpin, with illustrations by Hannah Peck.

The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods

The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods

This is the story of a sleepy town called Suds. A place where stories fill the air of children who keep turning grey and disappearing without a trace… Poppy and Erasmus are certain there's something peculiar going on in Suds, and they're determined to unravel its secrets. But when they discover the answers might lie in the darking and twisting woods, can they find the courage to creep inside and solve this riddling mystery?

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Find out more and read a free chapter

A thrilling read...flavoured with fairytales, drizzled with a syrup of fear and sprinkled with heart... M.G. Leonard, author of Beetle Boy

On the blog

Samuel J. Halpin, author of The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods, explains why children should confront what scares them in books.

Award winning fiction

Several Usborne fiction books have won major awards in 2018 and 2019, including The CILIP Carnegie Medal and The Branford Boase Award.

Royal Rebel by Carina Axelsson

From the bestselling author of Model Under Cover, Royal Rebel is the first book in a new series brimming with glitter, glamour and girl power.

Royal Rebel

Royal Rebel

Hi! I’m Lily and I’m going to be a TOTALLY AWESOME FASHION VLOGGER! There’s just one thing that might stand in my way. I’M A PRINCESS. But a princess can do whatever she wants, right? WRONG. Because one day I’ll be Queen of Waldenburg. And if there is one thing a future queen DOES NOT DO, it’s vlog about fashion… So I just have to make sure I DON’T GET CAUGHT – but keeping a secret this big isn’t easy… Royally yours, Lily xoxo THIS PRINCESS IS FASHIONING HER OWN FUTURE – WHATEVER IT TAKES!

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Royal Rebel iron-on patch

Start collecting your Royal Rebel patches today

We have 1000 fabulously feminist iron-on patches for each book in the Royal Rebel series. Start your stylish collection today by entering to win the Royal Rebel patch.

A Darkness of Dragons by S.A. Patrick

Three accidental heroes versus one legendary villain... 

A Darkness of Dragons by S.A. Patrick is a magical fantasy quest inspired by the Pied Piper of Hamlin – and was selected as Waterstones Children's Book of the Month for November 2018.

A Darkness of Dragons

A Darkness of Dragons

In a world of dragons, song spells, pipers and battles... Patch Brightwater is a boy in disgrace. Thrown in jail for playing a forbidden spell, he is no one's idea of a hero. But then he discovers a deadly truth – the evil Piper of Hamelyn is on the loose. With the help of Wren, a girl cursed to live as a rat, and Barver, a fire-breathing dracogriff, Patch must stop the Piper sparking the biggest battle of them all. Three accidental heroes versus one legendary villain... an epic adventure is born.

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Find out more and read a free chapter

Listen to the Songs of Magic, original music for three recorders made up of the Songs of Friendship, Magic and Courage composed by Anthony Marks.

The House with Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson

This enchanting story of Marinka and Baba Yaga, her grandmother who guides spirits between this world and the next, was selected as Waterstones Children's Book of the Month for May 2018.

The House with Chicken Legs

The House with Chicken Legs

Marinka dreams of a normal life, where her house stays in one place long enough for her to make friends. But her house has chicken legs and moves on without warning. For Marinka's grandmother is Baba Yaga, who guides spirits between this world and the next. Marinka longs to change her destiny and sets out to break free from her grandmother's footsteps, but her house has other ideas...

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Enticing, a little bit dangerous, and thrumming with possibilities. Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Girl of Ink and Stars

Find out more and read a free chapter

The Cogheart Adventures by Peter Bunzl

Murder, mystery and mayhem meet in this award-winning steampunk series. Don't miss our special offer to buy all three novels for the price of two!

Award Winner!
Cogheart

Cogheart

£6.99

Moonlocket

Moonlocket

£6.99

Skycircus

Skycircus

£6.99

A steampunky tale of ambition, pursuit and revenge. The Guardian review of Cogheart

A Place called Perfect by Helena Duggan

Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Neil Gaiman and Tim Burton, A Place Called Perfect was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. Violet and Boy return in the brand-new The Trouble with Perfect – another quirky, creepy and unforgettable adventure.  

A Place Called Perfect

A Place Called Perfect

Violet never wanted to move to Perfect. Who wants to live in a town where everyone has to wear glasses to stop them going blind? And who wants to be neat and tidy and perfectly behaved all the time? But Violet quickly discovers there's something weird going on – she keeps hearing noises in the night, her mum is acting strange and her dad has disappeared. When she meets Boy she realizes that her dad is not the only person to have been stolen away...and that the mysterious Watchers are guarding a perfectly creepy secret!

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

One of those books that you think about when you're not reading it and can't wait to find out what happens next. Tom Fletcher on A Place Called Perfect for the Tom Fletcher Book Club
The Trouble with Perfect

The Trouble with Perfect

Having uncovered the secrets that lay behind the spookily pristine town of Perfect, Violet and the townsfolk are enjoying their new freedom from the maniacal rule of the evil Archer twins. But have they really seen the last of Edward Archer? Why is Boy acting strangely? And who is masterminding a scary zombie army? Another quirky, creepy and unforgettable adventure, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Neil Gaiman and Tim Burton.

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

SLAY by Kim Curran

Meet SLAY – they do two things and they do them well: playing killer music and slaying killer demons.

SLAY

SLAY

Every fangirl's daydream is about to become Milly's nightmare. When Milly arrives home to discover that her mum has been taken over by something very evil, she finds herself in mortal danger. But the last people she expects to rescue her are the boys in the hottest band on the planet! Enter SLAY – playing killer gigs, and slaying killer demons. Suddenly Milly's on the road with JD, Tom, Niv, Zek and Connor, helping save the world, one gig at a time...

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

SLAY On Tour

SLAY On Tour

SLAY do two things and they do them well: They play killer music and they slay killer demons. After Milly’s rescued from mortal danger by the hottest band on the planet, she hardly expects to join them… But now she’s headed to Tokyo, ready to track down a hellraising demon. And when SLAY are invited on tour with a super-cool band of holographic girls, it’s Milly’s turn to step into the spotlight. Except strange things start happening on the SLAY tour train. Suddenly it seems it’s not just SLAY’s fans following their every move, but something very, very evil. Play time is over… Now it’s SLAY time.

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Slay is boyband fights evil and it's going to be huge and you're going to love it. Patrick Ness, author of A Monster Calls
Saturday Activities

Sign Up