Usborne Children’s Books

Search Usborne


Children's fiction

Being Miss Nobody by Tamsin Winter

Scroll down to browse our children's fiction categories, or take a look at Being Miss Nobody – a wonderful story about speaking out by new author Tamsin Winter.

Being Miss Nobody

Being Miss Nobody

... I am Miss Nobody. Rosalind hates her new secondary school. She's the weird girl who doesn't talk. The Mute-ant. And it's easy to pick on someone who can't fight back. So Rosalind starts a blog - Miss Nobody; a place to speak up, a place where she has a voice. But there's a problem... Is Miss Nobody becoming a bully herself?

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Will appeal to fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Cathy Cassidy. Catherine Bruton
A wonderful book about finding one's own voice. Ann M. Martin

Read first chapter

The Cogheart Adventures by Peter Bunzl

Murder, mystery and mayhem meet in this award-winning steampunk series by Peter Bunzl.

Cogheart

Cogheart

Lily's life is in mortal peril. Her father is missing and now silver-eyed men stalk her through the shadows. What could they want from her? With her friends - Robert, the clockmaker's son, and Malkin, her mechanical fox - Lily is plunged into a murky and menacing world. Too soon Lily realizes that those she holds dear may be the very ones to break her heart... Murder, mayhem and mystery meet in this gripping Victorian adventure.

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Moonlocket

Moonlocket

Storm clouds gather over Lily and Robert’s summer when criminal mastermind the Jack of Diamonds appears. For Jack is searching for the mysterious Moonlocket – but that’s not the only thing he wants. Soon, dark secrets from Robert’s past plunge him into danger, because Jack is playing a cruel game. Lily and Malkin, the mechanical fox, must stay one step ahead before Jack plays his final, deadly, card...

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Listen to Peter talk about the world and characters of The Cogheart Adventures on Fun Kids Radio:

A steampunky tale of ambition, pursuit and revenge The Guardian review of Cogheart

Find out more, download free activity sheets and make your own Cogheart animations on Cogheart.com

The Rose Muddle Mysteries: a spellbinding new series from Imogen White

Mystery, myth and magic join forces in The Amber Pendant – the first book in the new Rose Muddle Mysteries series.

The Amber Pendant

The Amber Pendant

When Rose Muddle is plucked from the workhouse to become a maid in a grand mansion, she discovers that her new mistress has secret plans for her – plans which involve a strange amber pendant with extraordinary powers. But fearsome enemies lurk in the shadows, intent on finding the mysterious pendant. As the shadows begin to close in, can Rose uncover the truth of her own destiny to stop these forces of evil?

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Imogen White was inspired by mysteries in the local history of Hove – from the Bronze Age to the present day. Read more...

Where the World Ends – a new novel by Geraldine McCaughrean

Where the World Ends is a stunning new novel about survival from Geraldine McCaughrean, winner of the Carnegie Award and Whitbread Children's Fiction Award.

Where the World Ends

Where the World Ends

Every time a lad came fowling on the St Kilda stacs, he went home less of a boy and more of a man. If he went home at all, that is... In the summer of 1727, a group of men and boys are put ashore on a remote sea stac to harvest birds for food. No one returns to collect them. Why? Surely nothing but the end of the world can explain why they have been abandoned to endure storms, starvation and terror. And how can they survive, housed in stone and imprisoned on every side by the ocean?

£9.99

Buy or find out more 

Everything Geraldine McCaughrean touches turns to gold. The Sunday Times
Brilliant, beautiful... as unpredictable as the sea itself Philip Reeve, author of Mortal Engines

The Eddy Stone Adventures by Simon Cherry

Grumpy penguins, pirates in bath tubs and alien cats intent on destroying the world are just some of the challenges Eddy Stone must face in these hilarious epic adventures.

Eddy Stone and the Epic Holiday Mash-Up

Eddy Stone and the Epic Holiday Mash-Up

When Eddy Stone finds a pirate in his Gran's bath, his miserable summer holiday turns into a treasure hunt. Setting sail in a ship-shaped shed, crewed by an old lady and a grumpy penguin, what could possibly stop them? All aboard for an EPIC adventure...

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Eddy Stone and the Alien Cat Mash-up

Eddy Stone and the Alien Cat Mash-up

When Eddy Stone meets an alien cat on a mission to destroy Earth, his rainy weekend suddenly takes off. Shooting into outer space with his annoying cousin Millie, can Eddy stop the crazy kitty? 3-2-1: Counting down to an adventure that's out of this world...

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Wonderfully told adventures Stephen Fry

Eddy Stone and the Epic Holiday Mash-Up is shortlisted for the Scholastic Laugh Out Loud Awards 2017 (or 'Lollies')

Lollies awards 2017