Search Usborne


Children's fiction

A Darkness of Dragons by S.A. Patrick

A Darkness of Dragons is a dragon-shaped retelling of the darkest legend of all: the Pied Piper of Hamelin. Three accidental heroes versus one legendary villain... an epic adventure is born.

A Darkness of Dragons

A Darkness of Dragons

In a world of dragons, song spells, pipers and battles... Patch Brightwater is a boy in disgrace. Thrown in jail for playing a forbidden spell, he is no one's idea of a hero. But then he discovers a deadly truth – the evil Piper of Hamelyn is on the loose. With the help of Wren, a girl cursed to live as a rat, and Barver, a fire-breathing dracogriff, Patch must stop the Piper sparking the biggest battle of them all. Three accidental heroes versus one legendary villain... an epic adventure is born.

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

All the ingredients of a perfect fantasy adventure. Kieran Larwood, author of The Legend of Podkin One-Ear

A Place called Perfect by Helena Duggan

Perfect for fans of Roald Dhal, Neil Gaiman and Tim Burton, A Place Called Perfect was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. Violet and Boy return in the brand-new The Trouble with Perfect – another quirky, creepy and unforgettable adventure.  

A Place Called Perfect

A Place Called Perfect

Violet never wanted to move to Perfect. Who wants to live in a town where everyone has to wear glasses to stop them going blind? And who wants to be neat and tidy and perfectly behaved all the time? But Violet quickly discovers there's something weird going on – she keeps hearing noises in the night, her mum is acting strange and her dad has disappeared. When she meets Boy she realizes that her dad is not the only person to have been stolen away...and that the mysterious Watchers are guarding a perfectly creepy secret!

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

One of those books that you think about when you're not reading it and can't wait to find out what happens next. Tom Fletcher on A Place Called Perfect for the Tom Fletcher Book Club
The Trouble with Perfect

The Trouble with Perfect

Having uncovered the secrets that lay behind the spookily pristine town of Perfect, Violet and the townsfolk are enjoying their new freedom from the maniacal rule of the evil Archer twins. But have they really seen the last of Edward Archer? Why is Boy acting strangely? And who is masterminding a scary zombie army? Another quirky, creepy and unforgettable adventure, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Neil Gaiman and Tim Burton.

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean – winner of the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018

Exactly thirty years since she first won the Carnegie Medal – the most prestigious children's book award – Geraldine McCaughrean wins the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018 for Where the World Ends, a gripping story of survival based on a true story. For age 12+.

Where the World Ends

Where the World Ends

Winner of the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018. Every summer Quill and his friends are put ashore on a remote sea stac to hunt birds. But this summer, no one arrives to take them home. Surely nothing but the end of the world can explain why they've been abandoned – cold, starving and clinging to life, in the grip of a murderous ocean. How will they survive?

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

A haunting, immersive and unforgettable reading experience The CILIP Carnegie Children's Book Awards, 2018

Usborne Quicklinks

Visit Usborne Quicklinks for links to websites where you can take a modern-day cruise to St Kilda, sail around the sea stacs and more.

The Wild Folk by Sylvia V. Linsteadt

The first book in the magical Stargold Chronicles, The Wild Folk is a timeless adventure filled with wonder from debut author Sylvia V. Linsteadt. For age 10+.

The Wild Folk

The Wild Folk

In the land of Farallone, the City dwellers' greed for stargold threatens to destroy the mystical Wild Folk. Their only hope rests with two young hares and their human companions – Tin, a City boy with a passion for invention, and curious Country girl Comfrey. To protect the stargold Tin and Comfrey face impossible tasks, each stranger than the last. And every creature they meet on their extraordinary journey, from the tiniest ant to the grizzliest witch, has a crucial role to play in saving the land they love. A timeless adventure filled with wonder, this is the first book in the magical Stargold Chronicles.

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

The wildness of Farallone and bravery and determination of Tin and Comfrey will surely find a place in every reader’s heart Booktrust

Read the first chapter

Usborne Modern Classics

Timeless stories from award-winning authors to introduce today’s readers to thrilling adventures, with unforgettable characters, inclusive perspectives and irresistible humour.

The Eddy Stone Adventures by Simon Cherry

When Eddy Stone finds a pirate in his Gran's bath, his miserable summer holiday turns into a treasure hunt. All aboard for this hilarious epic adventure!

Wonderfully told adventures. Stephen Fry
Charming, surreal and batty. Lenny Henry

The House with Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson

This enchanting story of Marinka and Baba Yaga, her grandmother who guides spirits between this world and the next, was selected as Waterstones Children's Book of the Month for May 2018.

The House with Chicken Legs

The House with Chicken Legs

Marinka dreams of a normal life, where her house stays in one place long enough for her to make friends. But her house has chicken legs and moves on without warning. For Marinka's grandmother is Baba Yaga, who guides spirits between this world and the next. Marinka longs to change her destiny and sets out to break free from her grandmother's footsteps, but her house has other ideas...

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Enticing, a little bit dangerous, and thrumming with possibilities. Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Girl of Ink and Stars

Read the first chapter

The Rose Muddle Mysteries by Imogen White

A spellbounding new series with a dash of mystery, myth and magic, The Rose Muddle Mysteries is perfect for young fantasy and adventure fans.

The Amber Pendant

The Amber Pendant

When Rose Muddle is plucked from the workhouse to become a maid in a grand mansion, she discovers that her new mistress has secret plans for her – plans which involve a strange amber pendant with extraordinary powers. But fearsome enemies lurk in the shadows, intent on finding the mysterious pendant. As the shadows begin to close in, can Rose uncover the truth of her own destiny to stop these forces of evil?

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

The Secret Ruby

The Secret Ruby

When Rose Muddle and Rui Singh travel to India to return a precious ruby, they discover they're being followed by a sinister stranger... someone who wants to steal the gem. And as a dark curse falls across the land, Rose and Rui find themselves in mortal danger. There's evil magic in the air... Can they uncover the ruby's secrets before their shadowy enemies wreak their deadly chaos?

£6.99

Buy or find out more 

Saturday Activities

Sign Up