Usborne Children’s Books

Search Usborne

The Castle of Llyr

Series: The Chronicles of Prydain: Book 3
By Lloyd Alexander


Amazon KindleApple iBooksGoogle Play

Eilonwy, Princess of the Royal House of Llyr, is to become a lady. Along with his faithful companions, Taran must negotiate the lair of the giant cat Llyan and the cavern of the King of Stones in his quest to win her back. Book Three in the Chronicles of Prydain, a classic epic full of breathtaking action, humour, valour and excitement. Written by one of America’s most distinguished authors, Lloyd Alexander has received two Lifetime Achievement Awards for Children’s Literature. A must-read for all Lord of The Rings fans.

Book information

Key Stage
KS2/3 E
Alison Read

Author information

Lloyd Alexander

Lloyd Alexander is one of the most respected and best-loved of American authors, with a huge following worldwide. He has written over forty books for adults and children. The Chronicles of Prydain have won many awards, including the highly prestigious Newbery Medal for The High King, as well as the Newbery Honour for The Black Cauldron and the ALA Notable Book for The Book of Three. He is best known for his tales of high fantasy and adventure, and in 2003 he was awarded a Life Achievement Award by the World Fantasy Convention. Lloyd was born in Pennsylvania and lived, until he died in 2007, a few blocks away from his childhood home. He met his future wife, Janine, in Paris while attending the University of Paris. After they married, Lloyd wrote novel after novel and it was seven years before his first novel was published. His magical stories have now sold millions of copies and have been translated into thirteen languages. “I never became a world traveller, an explorer, an adventurer. But I did become a writer, which is pretty much the same thing.” Lloyd Alexander

Press reviews

“A very fine fantasy adventure with a quite compelling magic of its own. It is rare that high excitement yields such quiet wisdom.”
“I love these books...Long Live Prydain!”

Resources for this book