Usborne Children’s Books

Search Usborne


Paperback
£6.99

Coming soon

Enter your email and we’ll let you know when this product is available.

Your address will be deleted after use.

This is a powerful story of hope and friendship, perfect for fans of Wonder and The Goldfish Boy. Exploring self-image, family and grief, this book will make you laugh and cry.

Twelve-year-old Will likes two things: turtles and the local nature reserve. Everything else is a nightmare, because Will has a facial difference that has earned him an unfortunate nickname. But when Will’s Bar Mitzvah community service project introduces him to RJ, a boy who is confined to a hospital room, Will discovers they both have strength to lend the other and that life is too short to live in a shell.

Book information

Age
9+
Paperback
ISBN: 9781474981385
Extent: 400 pages
Dimensions: 198 x 130mm

Author information

M. Evan Wolkenstein is a Jewish educator, style writer and illustrator. His work has been published in Tablet Magazine and the Washington Post. Evan’s debut novel, Turtle Boy, began as an autobiographical comic strip about his experiences growing up with a facial deformity. He lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with his wife and baby daughter.